Even before the COVID-19 pandemic, recreational boating was up in Louisiana. Now that many activities for children and their families are no longer considered safe, many Louisianans are taking to the water for some much-needed fun.
However, the congestion of water with new boaters who are less familiar with proper safety measures means that it’s important to practice extra precautions and make sure you are covered in the event of a boating accident.
Boating is Soaring
Boat sales and fishing are soaring. According to the National Marine Manufacturers Association, personal watercraft sales in May were up 75% over sales that occurred in May 2019.
WAFB9 reports that “According to the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, statewide fishing license sales last quarter were the best since 2012. ‘We actually sold 60 percent more licenses in the last three months than we did last year,’ said LDWF Undersecretary Bryan McClinton.”
Buying a Boat in Louisiana
If you’re shopping for a boat, there are a few extra steps you’ll need to take before you reach the dock: financing, registration, a safety course, and insurance.
Boat Loan Financing Offered by Farm Bureau Bank
Did you know that Farm Bureau Bank offers financing for new or used boats, motors, and boat trailers?
- APR* – As low as 3.59%
- Member-special rates1
- Up to 100% financing2
- Convenient monthly payment plans3
- 12 – 36 months
- 37 – 60 months
- 61 – 72 months
Visit the Farm Bureau Bank site to use the loan calculator and easily apply for your loan online.
Louisiana Boat Registration Policies and Procedures
All motorized boats and watercraft (including sailboats 12 feet or longer), must be registered with the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) used in Louisiana waters.
You need to fill out the title and registration application and submit it in person or by mail to the LDWF in Baton Rouge. Supplemental documentation is required for various types of boats (i.e. new boats from a dealership, boats from out of state, untitled boats). Visit the LDWF website to make sure you have copies of all of the required paperwork for the type of boat you own.
Once you register your boat for the first time, you will be able to renew your registration online.
Required Boat Safety Training
If your boat motor is 10 horsepower or more, you must complete an LDWF-approved Boater Education Course. Even if your boat’s motor is less than 10 horsepower, consider taking this course anyway! You may learn important safety information you’ll need later on.
LDWF makes it easy by offering several options for taking the course:
- Free, in-person courses offered by the LDWF
- Free online courses
- Paid online courses
Purchase Louisiana Boat Insurance
If you finance a new boat purchase, the lender may require that you purchase boat insurance as part of your agreement. Farm Bureau Insurance offers motorboat insurance that can protect your boat, motor, and trailer.
With more people on the water, more boating accidents are occurring.
With the increase of boat traffic we’re seeing an increase in boating accidents. We’ve had some people get hurt; there are some fatal boating accidents.Sgt. Stuart Guillory, Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Louisiana does not require boat insurance by law. This means that if you are struck by another vessel, that person may not have insurance and may not be able to pay for the damages. As more inexperienced boaters are out on the water, we highly recommended that you purchase boat insurance in order to protect yourself against this scenario.
Contact a Farm Bureau Insurance Agent
Stay safe on the water by properly insuring your boat. Get a quote on boat insurance today from a local Farm Bureau Insurance agent using our Agent Finder.
*Rates disclosed as Annual Percentage Rate [APR] and are based on acquiring the following collateral protection product: Major Mechanical Protection [MMP]. Additional discounts do not apply for purchasing more than one collateral protection product. MMP applies to vehicles only. Interest Rates and APRs are subject to change without notice.
1 Non-member rates may be 1.50% higher than posted rates.
2 Some restrictions apply.
3 Payment options may vary based on the amount to finance and/or collateral. Some restrictions apply. Applicants must qualify for quarterly, semi-annual, or annual payment plans.
4 Term options may vary based on the amount to finance and/or collateral. Extended terms must meet credit qualifications.