What if You Don’t Have Car Insurance in Louisiana?

Owning a car affords you the pursuit of freedom on the open road, where you share the space with other drivers who are seeking the same. But with car ownership also comes the responsibility of being a safe driver, prepared for anything may come your way–good or bad. In Louisiana, you’re going to want car insurance to take on those unexpected bumps in the road. 

Does Louisiana Require Car Insurance?

Louisiana requires drivers to carry liability coverage on automobiles they own. Liability Coverage protects you or anyone driving your vehicle in the case of damage to property or another person. In an accident where money is to be paid to an injured party, your liability policy will pay out the cost of those damages up to the policy’s limits. 

Louisiana requires vehicles to have what’s known as 15/30/25 liability limits. This means your policy will make payments to protect you from these financial hits:

  • $15,000 for injury to one person
  • $30,000 for injury to more than one person
  • $25,000 for damage to another’s vehicle or property

Penalties for Being Uninsured

If you are in an accident and do not have insurance, or even if you are stopped by the police and cannot provide proof of car insurance, you will want to be aware of the risks. 

Proof of Insurance

Claiming to have car insurance when you actually don’t have insurance may cause your license to be revoked. If you have insurance but just don’t have the paperwork with you when asked for it, you have three days to provide documentation to the Office of Motor Vehicles. 

Fees and Fines

Operating a vehicle without an insurance policy in place could expose you to fines and fees. Your vehicle may also be impounded. Other penalties may include the following being revoked or suspended:

  • Driving privileges
  • Registration
  • License plate


If you are uninsured and cause damage or injury to property or person while driving, you could have your license suspended for 180 days, registrations revoked, and face steeper fines. If you caused the damage in an accident, you are on the hook for paying out the other driver’s damages.

Whether you are involved in an accident, or another driver swerves wildly and causes you injury, you’ll want to be prepared with the right kind of coverage. Take time to research the best insurance policies to match your needs. 89% of Louisiana residents have auto insurance, so you will be in good company.

Avoid Penalties and Insure Your Vehicle With Farm Bureau Insurance

Avoid the unpleasantness of being uninsured. Get a free quote on a quality car insurance policy today.